Henriquez likely to be available against Texas Tech

23 Jan

When Frank Martin announced the suspension of junior forward Jordan Henriquez last week, he said Henriquez and he would meet this week and discuss his status with the team. From Martin’s comments on Monday night, it appears that conversation went well, and Martin sounded optimistic about the possibility that Henriquez will be back with the team tomorrow.

That means that the junior, who had been averaging 7.1 points and 5.1 rebounds in 18.9 minutes per game, could be available for the Wildcats’ game in Lubbock on Wednesday.

Martin was overwhelming positive – and surprisingly forthcoming, though appropriately vague – about the return of the 6’11” forward.

“Jordan’s one of my favorite guys of all time, and no different than my kids, it’s my job to get them to see what’s in front of them at all times. My kids, when they don’t behave, I take away their toys. Jordan lost sight of what he needed to do; I had to get his attention. He’s one of my favorite kids of all time. I’ve suspended two players in 27 years; it’s not what I do, but I needed to get his attention.

After my meeting with him today, I think that’s happened. Now it’s up to him to convince me furthermore later on tonight. Then I’m going to make a decision. But I’ve never had problems with him. It’s a shame that it had to get to that, but I would expect for him to be with us tomorrow, but I haven’t made that decision yet.”

Martin noted that Henriquez had been on the Big 12 President’s Honor Roll for five consecutive semesters before last semester.

 

Leave a Reply

